2022 Gubernatorial Elections



This year promises to be an important one in U.S. politics. While many are focusing on the upcoming 2022 congressional midterm elections, there are 36 states that are holding gubernatorial elections this year. In the coming weeks, and all the way through Election Day (and beyond), the Eagleton Center on the American Governor will provide analysis on various aspects of the gubernatorial races, focusing sometimes on nationwide trends and other times on specific races, as we try to bring a fuller picture of these key contests.

Believe it or not, primary season is here. Texas—one of 36 U.S. states with gubernatorial elections in 2022—held the first primary  in the country this past Tuesday, March 1. The other 35 states will follow suit through the spring and summer until September 20, when Massachusetts becomes the final state to hold its gubernatorial primary. The general election will follow in all 36 states on November 8.

There are likely to be numerous storylines in this year’s gubernatorial races: the continuing pandemic and the power struggles between governors and legislatures it has created; increasing partisanship at the state level; increasing representation of women and candidates of color running for gubernatorial office; and economic questions as states continue to (hopefully) recover from the pandemic, just to name a few.

While much attention in 2022 will be paid to party control of Congress next year, determining which party will have working majorities in state legislatures–and gubernatorial offices–is increasingly important.

A quick look at some of the key facts about this year’s gubernatorial races:


States with gubernatorial races in 2022

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Wisconsin, and Wyoming

U.S. territories with gubernatorial races in 2022

Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, and  U.S. Virgin Islands

Party Breakdown

Of the 36 seats up for election, 20 are currently held by Republicans and 16 by Democrats

Open Seats

At least 8 of the races will be for open seats: Arizona, Arkansas, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nebraska, Oregon, and Pennsylvania


All nine women currently serving as governor are approaching the end of their terms. While Governor Kate Brown (D-OR) is term-limited, the other eight have either announced they will run or are expected to do so soon.


Forty-six current governors are non-Hispanic white. All four who are not–David Ige (D-HI), Chris Sununu (R-NH), Michelle Lujan-Grisham (D-NM), and Kevin Stitt (R-OK)–serve in states holding gubernatorial elections this year. Sununu, Lujan-Grisham and Stitt will run for re-election, while Ige is term-limited.

Gubernatorial Primaries

April 1, 2022

Texas kicked off gubernatorial primary season on March 1, 2022, when incumbent Governor Greg Abbott (R) and challenger Beto O’Rourke (D) won their respective party primaries. Over the course of the next six months, 35 more states will hold gubernatorial primaries. The chart below lists the date of each state primary and will be updated with the nominees as the primaries occur. Some quick facts:

  • There are no gubernatorial primaries in April; the next will not be held until May 3.
  • In all, eight primaries will be held in May and 12 in June. There are no primaries scheduled in July (a bit of a summer break), followed by 12 in August and three in September.
  • The busiest gubernatorial primary day of the season is June 28, with five primaries held that day.
  • The final primaries will not be held until September 13 in New Hampshire and Rhode Island.
State Primary Date Democrat Republican
Alabama 24-May
Alaska 16-Aug
Arizona 2-Aug
Arkansas 24-May
California 7-Jun
Colorado 28-Jun
Connecticut 9-Aug
Florida 23-Aug
Georgia 24-May
Hawaii 13-Aug
Idaho 17-May
Illinois 28-Jun
Iowa 7-Jun
Kansas 2-Aug
Maine 14-Jun
Maryland 28-Jun
Massachusetts 6-Sep
Michigan 2-Aug
Minnesota 9-Aug
Nebraska 10-May Carol Blood Jim Pillen
Nevada 14-Jun
New Hampshire 13-Sep
New Mexico 7-Jun
New York 28-Jun
Ohio 3-May Nan Whaley Governor Mike DeWine (i)
Oklahoma 28-Jun
Oregon 17-May
Pennsylvania 17-May
Rhode Island 13-Sep
South Carolina 14-Jun
South Dakota 7-Jun
Tennessee 4-Aug
Texas 1-Mar Beto O’Rourke Governor Greg Abbott (i)
Vermont 9-Aug
Wisconsin 9-Aug
Wyoming 16-Aug